Allo' Expat Nigeria - Connecting Expats in Nigeria  
Allo' Expat Nigeria Logo

Subscribe to Allo' Expat Newsletter
Check our Rates
   Information Center Nigeria
Nigeria General Information
History of Nigeria
Nigeria Culture
Nigeria Cuisine
Nigeria Geography
Nigeria Population
Nigeria Government
Nigeria Economy
Nigeria Communications
Nigeria Transportations
Nigeria Military
Nigeria Transnational Issues
Nigeria Healthcare
Nigeria People Language & Religion
Nigeria Expatriates Handbook
Nigeria and Foreign Government
Nigeria General Listings
Nigeria Useful Tips
Nigeria Education & Medical
Nigeria Travel & Tourism Info
Nigeria Lifestyle & Leisure
Nigeria Business Matters
  Sponsored Links

Check our Rates

Nigeria Government


Politics of Nigeria take place in a framework of a federal presidential representative democratic republic, whereby the President of Nigeria is both head of state and head of government, and of a multi-party system. Nigeria has a rotating presidency so that the three major regions of Nigeria (the North, the East, and the West) share political control of the country. Executive power is exercised by the government.

The National Assembly of Nigeria has two chambers. The House of Representatives is presided upon by the Speaker of the House of Representatives. It has 360 members, elected for a four year term in single-seat constituencies. The Senate is presided upon by the President of the Senate. It has 109 members, elected for a four year term in 36 three-seat constituencies (corresponding to the country's 36 states) and one seat in a single-seat constituency (the federal capital, Abuja).

The judicial branch consists mainly of the Supreme Court of Nigeria, which is the highest court in the land. It is presided upon by the Chief Justice of Nigeria and 13 associate justices, appointed by the President of Nigeria on the recommendation of the National Judicial Council and subject to confirmation by the Senate.

There are four distinct systems of law in Nigeria. English Law which is derived from its colonial past with Britain, common law, constitutional law (both a development of its post colonial independence), and Sharia law, used only in the predominantly Hausa and Muslim north of the country. Like the United States, there is a Judicial branch with a Supreme Court which is regarded as the highest court of the land.

Nigeria also practices Baron de Montesquieu's theory of the separation of powers. The National Assembly serves as a watchdog to the excesses of the executive arm of government.

The federation is divided in 36 states and 1 territory*; Federal Capital Territory (Abuja)*, Abia, Adamawa, Akwa Ibom, Anambra, Bauchi, Bayelsa, Benue, Borno, Cross River, Delta, Ebonyi, Edo, Ekiti, Enugu, Gombe, Imo, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Kogi, Kwara, Lagos, Nasarawa, Niger, Ogun, Ondo, Osun, Oyo, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto, Taraba, Yobe, Zamfara.

Each state is further divided into Local Government Areas (LGAs). There are 774 LGAs in Nigeria. For each state, they are listed in the article for that state. Kano State has the largest number of LGAs at 44, and Bayelsa State has the fewest at 9. The Federal Capital Territory of Abuja has 6 LGAs. The Local Government Areas replaced the Districts that were the third tier administrative unit under the British government.

See more information on the next page... (next)




copyrights ©
2019 | Policy